Help with Log-in

Home|The Symposia|The Award




Return to The Symposia

NGCS 11 Tromso

11th Natural Gas Conversion Symposium
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Tromso, Norway
6 - 9 June 2016

The NGC symposia series returned to Norway for its 11th edition, bringing delegates close to abundant sources of natural gas that have only been partially discovered to date. Senior gas conversion researchers, academics, and industry experts met amidst the stunning landscape high above the Arctic Circle in Tromso, a city whose location and ice-free harbor have been central to its long history as the gateway to the Arctic for hunters, fishermen and explorers. More recently, Tromso has served as an important base for those exploring Arctic oil and gas resources, and as home to the world's most northerly university.

The NGCS 11 Local Organizing Committee involved representatives from the main academic and industrial groups involved in natural gas conversion in Norway, bringing experience from the University of Oslo, SINTEF, Statoil and INEOS together with that of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), the Natural Gas Conversion Board, and its International Scientific Advisory Board to produce a high quality program involving more than three hundred papers.

In addition to four days of symposium presentations and poster sessions, the program included an opportunity for participants to visit Statoil's Snohvit ("Snow White") facility, the world's northernmost LNG plant, along with a social program that provided delegates with a taste of northern Norway's rugged and beautiful coastal, sea, and mountain landscapes, its traditions and cuisine, and the summer midnight sun.

Information & Materials

 NGCS 11 Program




Special Publication

Catalysis Today
Special Issue of Catalysis Today for NGCS 11 Troms´┐Ż
Volume 299
January 2018

Editors: Anders Holman, Hilde Venvik, De Chen, Erling Ritter, Duncan Akporiaye

A special issue of Catalysis Today containing selected papers from the symposium was published in 2018. The publication is available on Elsevier's ScienceDirect online site

Local Organizing Committee

Hilde Johnsen Venvik (Co-Chair)
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)

Anders Holmen (Co-Chair)
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)

Unni Olsbye
University of Oslo

Erling Rytter

De Chen
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)

Duncan Akporiaye
SINTEF Materials and Chemistry

Steinar Kvisle









Natural Gas Conversion Board
1775 Eye Street, NW
Suite 1150
Washington, DC 20006

Telephone: +1-202-587-5770